Confessions of a dentist avoider

I didn’t plan it to be like this…trust me.  I’m not someone who has any anxiety or fear of the dentist.  I’m not afraid of dental pain.  It’s nothing like that.  It’s just that…. well….. life took over and my oral health became not-so-important.

I’m a mom and a wife.  Both my husband and my kiddo have had their dental visits over the years.  Not as regularly as they could have been, but they did get taken care of.  I, on the other hand, was constantly putting it off.  Something always came up.  Either a bill, or an emergency, or…well, anything.  Let’s face it – who wouldn’t rather spend the money on a vacation or new clothes or a nice dinner out?

As all things will, however, the magic carpet ride of avoidance came to an end.  Last week.

It was a lucky day, and there was time in the schedule to have my teeth cleaned by our fantastic hygienist, Michelle Hyken.  Suddenly, I was worried.  My co-workers and boss and the doctor were about to find out the dirty truth about me!  I hadn’t had my teeth cleaned in at least 15 years.  Maybe longer… I just couldn’t remember.
I know, I know…. you’re thinking, “Holy crow!  How could you go that long?”  Well, like most people, I went in to the dentist when something hurt.  But I didn’t go in to prevent any hurting.

When I sat down, Raquel, one of our assistants, asked how long it had been since I had my teeth cleaned.  I winced….. “At least…. fmphsfhgdjs.” (That was me, mumbling)  She said, “What?”  I said, with a big sigh, “15 years.  It’s been at least 15 years.”  She charted my answer and I braced for the lecture that I knew was sure to come.  I looked at her, still wincing and said, “Okay…. let me have it.”  She said (and I’ll never forget this…. probably ever), “Let you have what?  Did you think I was going to lecture you?  That’s silly.  Why would I lecture you when you’re here, now?  Our job isn’t to judge you.  Our job is to help you be healthy.”

Wow.  That is amazing, to me.  One of the things that happens, I think, with dentist-avoiders like me, is that the longer it goes without getting in, the easier it is to go longer without getting in.  One year turns into two.  That turns into five.  Five turns to ten… and then… who knows how long?  The entire staff treated me fairly and kindly.  And I got the best teeth cleaning I could imagine.  Gentle, professional and thorough service.  No judgement, lecturing or harassment.  Color me impressed.

I had a few issues that I will have to address (like some gum inflammation and a pretty gnarly cavity).  But let me be a cautionary tale.  It could have been much worse.  And it would have been much worse if I let it go on much longer.

If you’re avoiding, like I was…. don’t wait.  Just call.  Get in.  In our practice, we don’t judge you.  We don’t reprimand you.  We want you to have the very best oral health.  But it starts with one thing….. the phone call. 

Call, today!  303.595.4994.  Or visit our website for more information: www.DenverDentist.com

About BarotzDental

Dr. Charles S. Barotz is a 1980 graduate of Georgetown University School of Dentistry and has dedicated his life to provide you with the best that dentistry has to offer. Dr. Barotz is continually educating himself and his staff with the newest dental techniques and approaches, in order to provide you with advanced, state of the art, comfortable, personalized, and antiseptic dental care. Dr. Barotz has been published and lectures internationally on numerous subjects relating to excellence in dentistry.
This entry was posted in Barotz Dental, Dr. Charles Barotz and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Confessions of a dentist avoider

  1. Pingback: Tales from the Inside: And I’m “Filling” Good | Barotz Dental

Leave a Reply

